Down With the Sickness

I’ve touched on this topic before, but unfortunately, I have to touch on it again. There are some impediments in development that you can’t avoid, sickness being one of the main pain points. We’ve had a few of our team members who have been suffering from illness after illness, and as the producer I’m concerned. First and foremost, I’m concerned for the well being of those team members. No one wants to be sick, and these two have been dealing with it for nearly the entire semester so far. It’s my sincerest hope that they recover.

So what does this mean for the project? A few members being out of commission means an overall decrease in project velocity. Because of this decreased velocity, we have to start shifting responsibilities for those out of commission onto those who can currently work. This decreases our bandwidth overall for what work we can get done, and we need to make scope adjustments as necessary.

This has been a hit in our productivity, but otherwise, the project is coming along well! We had our greenlight milestone last Wednesday, and I believe it went well. I’m looking forward to what the rest of development has in store. Hopefully, good health!

Leave a comment