Introductions

Hi everyone!

My name is Max Sanel, and I’m a fourth year game production student at Champlain College. I’m currently in “Capstone” a program meant to showcase the knowledge I’ve picked up over the course of my time here. As the producer on my team I’m responsible for maintaining the Redmine project we’re using for development, presentations, market analysis, project planning, and managing QA on our game.

Project setup in this instance is relativity easy. We’re given a fairly comprehensive list of requirements we have to meet for our project, and we structure our utility around that. We’re using one week sprints, which isn’t my preferred two week length for projects of this type , but it fits the cadence of the course and is an overall better choice. Each week on Thursday we meet to present what we’ve accomplished, go through sprint planning, and close the previous sprint.

From the terminology above, it’s easy to see that we’re using agile/scrum project management. I’m a hold a Scrum Master certification and have been using this project planning methodology for me entire career, so it’s almost second nature to me at this point. I really enjoy working this way.

For this sprint, it was entirely brainstorming and setup. Our goal was to reach 50 ideas, distill them down into around 5 golden ones, flesh them out, and create some preliminary prototypes.

I’m incredibly excited to make some games with my fantastic team, and I’ll tell you more next week once we dive into creating some more substantial prototypes.

See you all then!

Leave a comment